Find out about the members and officers of the West Yorkshire Combined Authority and their responsibilities.


West Yorkshire Combined Authority’s membership is made up of democratically elected councillors from our West Yorkshire partner councils of Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield, plus York and the Chair of the Leeds City Region Enterprise Partnership (the LEP). A substitute member from each is also appointed to act in their place in the event of absence.

The members of the Combined Authority are:



Councillor Susan Hinchcliffe  (Chair)  

Councillor Imran Khan  

Councillor Tim Swift MBE  (Vice Chair)  

Councillor Jane Scullion  

Councillor Keith Aspden

Councillor Andy D'Agorne

Councillor Judith Blake CBE    

Councillor James Lewis  

Councillor Peter Box CBE    

Councillor Denise Jeffery  

Councillor Stewart Golton    

Councillor John Lawson  

Councillor David Hall    

Councillor Geraldine Carter

Roger Marsh OBE    

Professor Bob Cryan CBE  

Councillor Shabir Pandor    

Councillor Peter McBride

Councillor John Pennington    

Councillor Rebecca Poulsen  

You can find out more about the membership of the Combined Authority and other bodies. 

Leadership team

The senior management team of officers is appointed by the members of the Combined Authority. The role of officers is to serve the Combined Authority in providing advice, implementing its policies and delivering services to the local community.

The senior management team of the West Yorkshire Combined Authority is headed by the Managing Director, with each of the Directors having clearly defined areas of responsibility.

Ben Still, Managing Director

Angela Taylor, Director - Corporate Services

Angela is responsible for leading and directing the delivery of all corporate services including Legal and Governance Services, Human Resources, ICT, Finance, Business Planning and Health and Safety, and to act as the statutory Section 73 Financial Officer for the West Yorkshire Combined Authority.

Alan Reiss, Director - Policy, Strategy and Communications

Alan is responsible for defining, developing and securing appropriate economic, transport and related policy and strategy for the Leeds City Region. To lead in securing funding and powers from Central Government in support of the devolution agenda.

Dave Pearson, Director - Transport Services

Dave is responsible for leading and directing the development and delivery of all transport services.

Melanie Corcoran, Director - Delivery

Melanie is responsible for defining, developing and implementing all programme and project processes for the Combined Authority and the Leeds City Region Enterprise Partnership (LEP).

Henry Rigg, Interim Executive Head of Economic Services

Henry is responsible for providing strategic leadership on the delivery of all economic services - skills and employment, business growth/competitiveness, and international trade and investment.

Monitoring Officer

This role is filled by Caroline Allen, Head of Legal and Governance Services

The Monitoring Officer can be reached by email here or in writing at: 

Monitoring Officer 
Legal and Governance Services
West Yorkshire Combined Authority
Wellington House
40-50 Wellington Street